In the Press


Reichel/Pugh 72′ Shockwave has won overall the RORC Caribbean 600

February 26, 2014 · Posted by kate


2014 Royal Ocean Racing Club CARIBBEAN 600
(600nm) / Antigua Yacht Club

(February 26, 2014) – George Sakellaris’ Reichel/Pugh designed and McConaghy built 72’ Mini Maxi Shockwave has won overall the RORC CARIBBEAN 600 for the best IRC corrected time in the sixty boat fleet. The 6th edition of this increasingly popular 600 nm classic started off Antigua on February 24th and covered a tough and exhilarating course around 11 islands before finishing off Antigua.

Congratulations to the Shockwave Crew on winning a very challenging race; George Sakellaris (USA), Richard Bouzaid (NZL), Jason Carr (GBR), Reggie Cole (USA), Robbie Doyle (USA), Jim Gibson (USA), Scott Gregory (CAN), Peter Kingsbury (PRI), Sam Loughborough (USA), Brian McInnis (CAN), Mark McTeigue (AUS), Andy Meiklejohn (NZL), Mark Mendelblatt (USA), Eduardo Natucci (ITA), Liam Newman (SWE), Silas Nolan (AUS), Guy Standbridge (GBR), Adrian Stead (GBR), David Swete (NZL), Andrea Visintini (ITA).

Johnny Vincent’s R/P designed TP52 Pace took 3rd place in the Caribbean 600, following on from her victory in the IRC Z Class of the 2013 Fastnet Race.

Shockwave previous overall wins include the 635 mile 2012 Newport – Bermuda Race. Under prior ownership Shockwave also won overall the 2010, 243 nm Giraglia Rolex Mediterranean Classic and the Mini Maxi Championship of the 2009 Rolex Cup.

Event links:—Shockwave-claims-overall-win/119709/

Photo Courtesy of Robbie Doyle

Visit the builder’s website at:



Back to top