In the Press

Fito Carreto/Copa Del Rey Audi Mapfre 6-15-2012

Shockwave wins New York Yacht Club’s 158th Annual Regatta

June 15, 2012

158th NYYC Annual Regatta Presented by Rolex, Newport RI USA
June 9th -10th 2012

Congratulations to the owners and crews of the Reichel/Pugh designed yachts competing in the 158th NYYC Annual Regatta.

The 2012 edition of what is revered as America’s oldest regatta had its biggest fleet ever. In even-numbered years, the regatta draws a large number of competitors who compete a week later in the Newport-Bermuda Race.

George Sakellaris’s RP designed and McConaghy built 72’ Mini Maxi Shockwave scored two bullets to win IRC1 in the 158th NYYC Annual Regatta with George David’s RP designed and McConaghy Boats built 90’ Maxi Rambler taking 3rd place.

Hamnet Hill’s R/P Marten 49 a cruiser/racer Defiance took 3rd in IRC3.

Earlier this year Shockwave dominated the IRC Division in the 2012 Sperry Top-Sider Charleston Race Week in South Carolina USA scoring 7 bullets in 8 races and winning 1st overall. Under the original ownership of Neville Crichton, Shockwave took 1st place in the 2009 Maxi Yacht Rolex Cup, the Copa del Rey Audi Regatta and 1st Overall in the 2010 Giraglia Race.

The 635nm  Newport-Bermuda Biennial Classic starts today and the weather is setting up for a record pace. The late Roy Disney’s R/P 75 Pyewacket set the current course record for fixed ballast yachts in 2002 with a course time of 2d,5h,39m,22s.  Dr. Hasso Plattner’s R/P MaxZ canting keel 86 Morning Glory set the current  course record in 2004 for moveable ballast yachts with a course time of 2d,28m,31s. We wish the whole fleet a safe and memorable trip to Bermuda.

Visit the builder’s website for each yacht at:

McConaghy Boats (builders of Shockwave, Rambler and Morning Glory)

New England Boatworks (builders of Team Tiburon/Wizard)

Photo Fito Carreto/Copa del Rey Audi Mapfre

Share: share_email share_lin share_twit share_fb