In the Press


Rombelli is 2019 Melges 20 World Champion, Joyce is Corinthian

April 8, 2019 · Posted by Kate Sheahan

The winner of the 2019 Melges 20 World Championship is Alessandro Rombelli and the STIG team of Francesco Bruni, Giorgio Tortarolo, and Tea Faoro!

Reichel/Pugh sends best wishes to all competitors at the 2019 Melges 20 Worlds.

MIAMI (April 7, 2019) — Twenty-two teams representing nine countries sailed the 2019 Melges 20 World Championship held April 4-7 hosted by the Coconut Grove Sailing Club in Miami, Florida on Biscayne Bay. Alessandro Rombelli and the Italian STIG team of Francesco Bruni, Giorgio Tortarolo, and Tea Faoro can call themselves world champions! In the all-amatuer Corinthian division, the World title goes to Rhonda Joyce and the GRINNING STREAK team of Jeremy Edwards and Tony Bowman.

Day 3<br /> Melges 20 World Championship<br /> Coconut Grove Sailing Club<br /> Miami, 3 April 2019<br />

© Melges 20/Zerogradinord

HEARTBREAKER driven by Bob Hughes with Federico Michetti and Manu Weiller finished in second place, Igor Rytov’s RUSSIAN BOGATYRS with Konstantin Besputin and Anton Sergeev finished in third place. Daniel Thielman’s KUAI and Vladimir Prosikhin’s NIKA rounded out the podium.

© Melges 20/Zerogradinord

The Melges 20 Class and the Melges World League now look to Europe and Asia for racing, then back to North America for next winter’s Miami Winter Series. The 2020 World Championship will be in Europe, and the 2021 World Championship will be back in North America.

Up next: two weeks until the first race of the Melges 20 World League in Villasimius, Sardinia!

Photos by Zerogradinord / Melges 20

About the Melges 20
The Melges 20 Experience is simple, fun world-class racing at yachting’s most celebrated venues. Introduced in 2007, the Melges 20 is an-exclusive Reichel/Pugh design manufactured by Melges USA. For more information on the International Melges 20 Class Association, visit

About the Melges World League
Designed to increase rivalry and enhance the worldwide racing experience, the Melges World League (MWL) is the global racing platform and ranking system for Melges owners around the world. The MWL includes the Melges 14, Melges 20 and Melges 32 Classes. For Melges 20 World League information, visit

all photography © Melges 20/Zerogradinord

Back to top