In the Press


Wizard Wins The Barn Door & 3 San Francisco Bay Area R/P Designs Take Class Wins In 2013 TRANSPAC

July 25, 2013 · Posted by kate

Reichel/Pugh Yachts Take Top Spots in 2013 Transpac Race

2013 Transpac Race (2225nm)
22 July 2013, Transpacific Yacht Club

Congratulations to all the owners and crews of Reichel/Pugh yachts racing in the 2013 Transpac Race.

David and Peter Askew’s 74’ Reichel/Pugh designed and New England Boatworks built Mini-Maxi WIZARD (formerly Bella Mente), finishes ‘first’ in the 2013 Transpac Race winning the unique Transpacific Yacht Club’s Perpetual Trophy – a 3.5’ x 4’ plaque of hand carved Hawaiian Koa Wood – better known as the ‘Barn Door,’ traditionally awarded to the fixed keel mono-hull employing no stored energy with the fastest elapsed time.  Wizard’s elapsed time was 7days, 7 hours, 53 minutes, 46 seconds, which was 12 hours and 13 minutes slower than Bella Mente’s Barn Door record run of 6 days 19 hours 39 minutes 28 seconds set in 2011.


David & Peter Askew & the crew of Wizard in Hawaii, Photo courtesy of Jocelyn Thompson.



Frank Slootman’s R/P 63 Invisible Hand, Photo courtesy of Transpacific YC


Frank Slootman’s R/P 63 Mini Maxi INVISIBLE HAND (formerly Limit, built by Hart Marine) took first place in Division 1 with the Wizard taking 2nd place on corrected time.
INVISIBLE HAND is the sister- ship to LOKI who won the 2011 Sydney-Hobart race and took second place in 2012.



Thomas Akin & the crew of Meanie in Hawaii, Photo courtesy of Transpacific YC.



Ricardo Brockmann & the crew of Vincitore in Hawaii, Photo courtesy of Transpacific YC.


Thomas Akin’s R/P designed 52 MEANIE (formerly Vela Veloce) took FIRST place in Division 2.  VINCITORE, Ricardo Brockmann’s R/P 52 took 3rd place in Division 2 for the second Transpac in a row. VELA VELOCE and VINCITORE, launched in 2008, were built as racer/cruisers out of the same mold by Davie Norris in New Zealand.  VINCITORE won the Rolex U.S. IRC National Championship in 2009, the  and took first place in IRC A Class of the 2009 Big Boat Series and VELA VELOCE  was the Rolex U.S. IRC National Champion in 2010 and winner of the 2010 US IRC Gulf Stream Series.


Perennial winner Chip Megeath’s R/P 45 CRIMINAL MISCHIEF, built by Hakes Marine and originally launched in early 2007 as Beau Geste, took FIRST place in Division 4.  In 2011 the 45’ CRIMINAL MISCHIEF took 2nd place in division 2 when mixed in with the 52’s and FIRST in class in the 2009 Transpac. In 2010 the Criminals won their class in the PACIFIC CUP taking 2nd overall in fleet. BEAU GESTE in 2007 was the overall IRC winner of the Sydney – Southport offshore classic.

SJAMBOK 45 built from the same mold as the CRIMINAL MISCHIEF has its own winning record, setting an elapsed time record in the 2012 Annapolis – Bermuda race and was the overall winner in the Annapolis- Newport races in 2007 and 2011. SJAMBOK won Class honors in the 2007 Pineapple Cup to Montego Bay and was winner of the Gulf Stream Series of that year.



RP Maxis have held the Transpac Course Record Since 1999 (Roy Disney’s 75’ Pyewacket Maxi Sled).
The record has been broken 4 times since 1999 always by Reichel/Pugh designed yachts.
RP Yachts have won the Barn Door Trophy on 7 out of 8 editions of the race since 1999.

2011 BELLA MENTE – Hap Fauth’s 74’ Mini Maxi sets a new fixed keel course record of 6 days 19 hours 39 minutes 28 seconds with an average speed of 13.6 knots.

2011 PATCHES – Jorge Ripsteins TP52 designed by R/P won Division 2 followed by R/P designs CRIMINAL MISCHIEF 45’ and VINCITORE 52’.

2011 GRAND ILLUSION – Ed and James McDowell’s Santa Cruz 70 featuring Reichel/Pugh designed appendages took 1-1 as in first in division and first in fleet overall on corrected time.

2009 100’ ALFA ROMEO – 1st to Finish (CURRENT RECORD HOLDER 5 days 14 hours 36m 20s) (Moveable Ballast & Powered Winches Course Record) – N. Crichton

2005 86’ MORNING GLORY – 1st to Finish (SET NEW RECORD) (Moveable Ballast Course Record) – H. Plattner

2005 52’ ROSEBUD – 1st Class & 1st Fleet Corrected Overall – R. Sturgeon

2003 77’ PEGASUS – 1st to Finish Barn Door Trophy Winner – P.Kahn

2001 75’ PEGASUS – 1st to Finish Barn Door Trophy Winner, 2nd Fleet Overall Corrected– P. Kahn

1999 75’ PYEWACKET – 1st to Finish Barn Door Trophy Winner (SET NEW RECORD) (Fixed Ballast Course Record) 2nd Fleet Overall Corrected– R. Disney

1995 66’ EXILE – 1st Place Class Winner – J. Warwick Miller

1989 70’ TAXI DANCER – 1st Place Class Winner (19 Sleds competing), 2nd Place Fleet Overall – M. Rousse

Wizard Sailing Photo Courtesy of Sharon Green

For more information on the yachts contact:

Visit the builder’s website for the yachts at: for New England Boatworks (builders of Wizard) for Hart Marine (builders of Invisible Hand) for Davie Norris Boatbuilders (builders of Vincitore & Meanie) for Hakes Marine (builders of Criminal Mischief)

Back to top