In the Press


Reichel/Pugh 72′ Shockwave Triumphs at the 49th NEWPORT-BERMUDA RACE

June 23, 2014 · Posted by kate


Congratulations to the owners and crews of the Reichel/Pugh designed yachts competing in the 2014 NEWPORT to BERMUDA Ocean Race (635 nautical miles).

New York Yacht Club/Royal Bermuda Yacht Club (June 23rd 2014) – George Sakellaris’ R/P-designed/engineered and McConaghy-built 72’ Mini Maxi SHOCKWAVE  took fleet line honors and wins the Gibbs Hill Lighthouse Trophy taking 1st Place Overall under both ORR and IRC.  SHOCKWAVE takes multiple silver, also snatching the Corporation of Hamilton Trophy for the first yacht to finish in fleet ( best elapsed time) and the North Rock Beacon Trophy for the best IRC corrected time in fleet. The latter, a silver replica of the 1960-1990 North Rock Light Tower that once warned mariners of the rocky approach to Bermuda from the North.

The win adds to Shockwave’s growing list of recent victories, highlighted by their division win in the 2012 Newport-Bermuda Race, the 2013 Montego Bay, and earlier in the year won overall the grueling RORC CARIBBEAN 600 for the best IRC corrected time in the sixty boat fleet. Under prior ownership SHOCKWAVE also won overall the 2010, 243 nm GIRAGLIA Rolex Mediterranean Classic and the Mini Maxi Championship of the 2009 Rolex Cup.

Reichel/Pugh designs have a rich history of taking top spots in Newport – Bermuda Classic with multiple Division/Class winners and 8 Line Honors wins and three record setting races since 2002:

2014 – 72’ Shockwave – George Sakellaris
Fleet Line honors winner and winner of Gibbs Hill Trophy IRC & ORR & winner of North Rock Beacon Trophy
2014 – 66’ Kodiak – Llywd Ecclestone
Line honors winner in the St David’s Lighthouse Division and winner of Class 8 ORR
2012 – 90’ Rambler – George David
1st to Finish- SETS NEW COURSE RECORD – 39hr 39m 18s
2012 – 72’ Shockwave – George Sakellaris
1st Overall racing IRC & OR winner of Gibbs Hill Trophy & North Rock Beacon Trophy
2012 – 49’ Defiance – Hamnett Hill
1st Gibbs Hill Division Class 9 ORR
2012 – 66’ Kodiak – Llywd Ecclestone
Line Honors Winner of the St Davids Lighthouse Division, 1st overall in Class 8 ORR & winner of Overall Performance Trophy
2010 – 90’ Rambler – George David
1st to Finish
2008 – 90’ Rambler – George David
1st to Finish
2004 – 86’ Morning Glory – Dr. Hasso Plattner
1st to Finish  – SET NEW (Canting Ballast) COURSE RECORD – 2d 28m 31s
2004 – 52’ Rosebud – Roger Sturgeon
1st Overall Racing Division and winner of Gibbs Hill Lighthouse Trophy
2004 – 80’ Carrera – Joe Dockery
1st to Finish
2004 – 66’ Zaraffa – Dr. Skip Sheldon
1st Overall in St David’s Lighthouse Class 8
2002 – 66’ Blue Yankee – Robert Towse
1st Overall Racing Division and winner of Gibbs Hill Lighthouse Trophy
2002 – 75’ Pyewacket – Roy Disney
1st to Finish – SET NEW COURSE RECORD (Fixed Ballast) – 2d 5h 39m 22s
2002 – 66’ Zaraffa – Dr. Skip Sheldon  
1st Overall Cruiser/Racer Division and winner of the St David’s Lighthouse Trophy and Overall Performance Trophy

Event links:

Photo courtesy of:
Barry Pickthall / PPL Media

Visit the builder’s website at:

Back to top